INTERTANKO Safety and Technical Committee (ISTEC)

INTERTANKO Safety and Technical Committee (ISTEC)


·         Promote safety at sea and the protection of the environment through communication and experience sharing .

·         Foster co-operation with the IMO, IACS, OCIMF, ICS and other recognised bodies involved with tanker safety and the protection of the environment.

·         Represent INTERTANKO at IMO and other industry fora so as to ensure proper representation on appropriate committees and working groups developing safety and environmental legislation and regulation.

·         Advise on aspects of safety, environmental protection operation of tankers and training in order to promote efficient and professional ship operation.


·       Air emissions

·       ALERT Project

·       Antifouling and Biofouling

·       Ballast Water

·       Cadet Berth Availability

·       Cargo Tank Pressure Testing

·       Coating maintenance and repair

·       Continuing Hull Stress Monitoring

·       Correctness of ships certificates 

·      Developments on Tanker Management Self Assessment (TMSA Guidelines)

·       Electronic Chart and Display Information Systems (ECDIS)

·       EMSA Panel on DH tankers

·       Engine Room Waste Treatment Associated Systems (ERWTAS) Best Practice Guide

·       Environmental Indexing of ships

·       Fixed hydrocarbon gas detection system on Double Hull Tankers

·       Formal Safety Assessment on Crude Oil Tankers

·       Goal based standards for new buildings

·       Greenhouse Gases:(EEDI/SEEMP/MBMs)

·       Guidelines for verification of damage stability requirements for tankers and bulk carriers

·       Harmonisation of CAP schemes and evaluation standards

·       IACS Common Rules (CSR)

·       IACS Draft UR on Hull Survey for New Construction

·       INTERTANKO Best Practice on Tanker Efficiency

·       Key Performance Indicators (KPI)

·       Lifeboat Safety

·       LNG as alternative fuels

·       Load Line Zones off South Africa

·       Long Range Identification and Tracking (LRIT)

·       Main Engine Bearing Condition Monitoring

·       Maintenance Standard – Owner’s manual

·       Maritime Security

·       Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)

·       Means of Access – Application of regulations

·       Mercury in cargoes

·       Mooring equipment standards

·       Oil and Gas Tankers trade in Arctic Areas – Risk Assessment

·       Performance Standards for Cargo Tank Coating

·       Performance Standards for Seawater Ballast Tanks Coatings – Best Practice Guide

·       Pilotage

·       Port Reception facilities

·       Means of Access – Application of regulations

·       Scrubbers

·       Secondary Means of Venting

·       Ship recycling

·       Structural recommendations for new ships carrying liquids in bulk

·       Sulphur Emission Control Areas (SECAs)

·       Tripartite discussions/meetings

·       Under Keel Clearance

·       Waste management and benchmarking 



Takis Koutris, Roxana Shipping SA, (Chairman)
Bertil Andersson, Laurin Maritime AB (Vice Chairman)
Sokratis Dimakopoulos, Minerva Marine (Vice Chairman)
Douglas Lang, Anglo-Eastern Ship Manangement (UK) Ltd (Vice Chairman)
Majid Saeed Al Suwaidi, Abu Dhabi National Tanker Co

Francesco Bellusci, Scorpio Ship Management SAM
Stamatis Bourboulis, Euronav Ship Management (Hellas) Ltd
Andrew Brown, Interorient Marine Services Ltd
Gerrit Bunt, Exmar Shipmanagement
Stavros Daniolos, Minerva Marine Inc
Matteo Di Maio, V Ships
Paolo Enoizi, Stolt Tankers BV
Munawar Fakhri, MOL Tankship Management (Eur) Ltd
Dimitrios A Heliotis, Target Marine SA
Tamio Kawashima, Japanese Shipowners' Assoc Eur Dist Br
Panos Kourkountis, Andriaki Shipping Co Ltd
Luc Larbalestrier, Euronav NV
Dimitris Makris, Springfield Shipping Co Panama SA

Lars Pennman, Concordia Maritime
Apostolos Poulovassilis, Aegean Shipping Management SA
Pradeep Ranjan, Univan Ship Management Ltd

Fabio Tagliavia, d'Amico Societá di Navigazione SpA

Konstantinos Vlachos, Consolidated Marine M'ment Inc
Nikolay N Zinenko, SCF Group

Secretary: Dragos Rauta