Not Logged In, Login,

Thursday, September 20, 2018


This week INTERTANKO’s Executive Committee and Council held its autumn meetings in Hong Kong. Covering a full agenda with comprehensive reports from all of INTERTANKO’S committees and regional panels, members considered i.a. maritime security, the Limburg terrorist attack, insurance, oil spill compensation, and the serious delays in transiting the Turkish Straits.

In conjunction with these meetings, INTERTANKO’s members, associate members and invited guests had the opportunity to listen to three leading tanker analysts presenting their views on ‘The state of the industry’ ‘Pros and cons of shipbuilding in China’ and ‘Asian tanker markets’. Close to three hundred delegates attended the International Seminar on ‘Tanker Safety, Pollution Prevention, Spill Response and Compensation’ co-hosted by ITOPF, OCIMF and INTERTANKO on 6 November (see separate article). During the seminar INTERTANKO launched their Environmental Challenge which aims to promote research and development into solutions to the leading environmental concerns facing the tanker sector.


The delays caused by the implementation of new transit regulations for the Turkish Straits were also considered in Hong Kong, China. Representatives of some of the oil companies and INTERTANKO had a first meeting to explore approaches to the relevant interests in Turkey with the purpose of ensuring that transit of the Turkish Straits could take place both safely and efficiently.


The Council decided that the membership fees would remain unchanged for yet another year.


A more substantial report on the main discussions will be included in next week’s Weekly NEWS.


New Chairman and members of INTERTANKO Committees


At the Council meeting Mr Ken Marshall, NEDA Maritime Agency Co. Ltd. was elected as Chairman of INTERTANKO’s Insurance Committee, replacing Mr Geoff Woodford, N. J. Goulandris Ltd. The Council expressed its sincere thanks to Mr Woodford for his personal contribution to the success of INTERTANKO’s insurance work.


The following were elected as members:


Chemical Tanker Committee


Mr John Fields, Iver Ships AS;
Mr Lars Modin, Stolt Nielsen Transportation Group (SNTG) BV;
Mr Michael Adeltoft,
Mr John T. Essberger GmbH & Co;
Mr Bertil Andersson, Laurin Maritime (UK) Ltd;
Mr Luca Bertani, FINBETA SpA;
Mr Bruno Caillard, Brostrøm Tankers SA;
Mr Heinz Juergen Danckers, Transocean Shipmangement GmbH, Hamburg;
Mr Stephen Hardy, Hanseatic Shipping Company Ltd;
Mr Jan H. Johansen, Seatrans DA;
Mr Hans-Yngve Johnsson, Ektank;
Mr John Lean, Botany Bay Shipping Group;
Mr William Marshall, Tokyo Marine;
Mr Emmanuel Papalexis, Mare Maritime Company S.A;
Capt John Pocklington, Norbulk Shipping UK Ltd;
Capt Ramu Naidu Sanasi, Aurora Tankers Sdn.Bhd;
Capt Mike Shuker, Ceres Hellenic Shipping Enterprises Ltd;
Mr Albrecht Stender, KOMPASS Reederei GMBH;
Mr Roel Vermeulen, Vopak Chemical Tanker Services B.V;
Mr Yvon Vrignaud, Vinalmar S.A.


Communications and PR Committee


Mr Vassilios Bacolitsas, Pioneer Tankers Shipping Corporation; Mr Colin Cridland, Braemar Seascope; Mrs Poti Mossberg, Marinvest AB and Mr Stewart Wade, American Bureau of Shipping.


INTERTANKO Safety, Technical and Environmental Committee (ISTEC).


Mr Stamatis Bourboulis, Ceres Hellenic Shipping Ent. Ltd.; Mr Per Labõm, Concordia Maritime; Capt. Akihiko Sakai, NYK Bulkship (Eur) Ltd.; Capt. Prabhat Sharma    V. Ships Switzerland S.A and Mr Bjorn Sødahl, Stena Bulk AB


IT Committee


Mr Farzin Karma, Ulysses Systems Inc.


Vetting Committee

Mr Lars Mossberg, Marinvest AB; Mr David Sharp, Unicom Management Services (Cyprus) Ltd; Mr Peter Abildgaard, A/S Dampskibsselskabet; Capt Bob Bishop, V.Ships (UK) Ltd; Capt Ashley Cooper, Scorpio Ship Management; Capt. Surendra Dutt, Anglo-Eastern Shipmanagement; Mr Stephen Hardy, Hanseatic Shipping Company Ltd; Mr John Hill, Heidmar; Capt James Jeeris, Petroships; Mr Alan Johnson, Tsakos Shipping & Trading S.A; Capt Nikolaos Koulouris, Ceres Hellenic Shipping Enterprises Ltd; Mr Ken Marshall, Neda Maritime Agency Co. Ltd; Mr William Marshall, Tokyo Marine Ltd; Capt Rajiv Mithal, NOL; Capt Dinesh Pradhan, Teekay Shipping; Capt Raja Rajalingam, MISC;

Mr Patrick Russi, Stolt-Nielsen; Mr Alasdair Smith, Thome Ship Management;

Capt Cosmas Thiraios, Kyklades Maritime Corp; Capt Michael Wilson, Laurin Maritime (America) Inc; Mr Christophoros Valianatos, Chandris-Hellas.




The INTERTANKO Council approved applications for membership from the following five tanker owing companies with a registered overall fleet of 13 tankers.


Fratelli D'Amato SPA

Project Shipping Inc.

Pietro Barbaro Shipping SPA

Shipping Co. Somers

Wappen Reederei GmbH & Co KG


New INTERTANKO Associate Members


The INTERTANKO Council approved the applications for associate membership from the following fourteen companies:


Aegean Agency Shipping And Trading Company Ltd

Algerian Shipping & Chartering sarl


Falcon Navigation Corp.

Golden Energy Management S.A.

Hill Taylor Dickinson

Hudson Marine Management Services

International Registries(UK) Limited

Ocean Trade & Brokers Ltd.


Seward and Kissel

Target Marine S.A

Triaina Agencia Maritime Ltda. Matheos Paidusis

Vietnam Tanker Co.


2003 Washington Tanker Event


The Tanker Event 2003 will be held in Washington 5-9 April 2003 in conjunction with the meeting of INTERTANKO’s Council and the AGM. Bookings have been made at the Mayflower Hotel in WashingtonDC. The theme of the Event will be ‘The Tanker Industry – The Energy Link’, and representatives from the industry, regulatory bodies and other relevant organisations will be invited to share their views with the INTERTANKO membership. The preliminary programme will be distributed soon and will be continuously updated on our website.