Not Logged In, Login,

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Tokyo - INTERTANKO Annual General Meeting 2009

The Annual General Meeting took place on 14 May 2009 during the INTERTANKO Tanker Event. The Meeting approved both the Annual Report and Review (click here to view), and also the and Financial Statements for 2009.


Dr Peter Swift advised the Meeting that the Chairman, Nicholas G. Fistes, had completed his first two year term, and had been re-elected by the Council to serve a further two years. In addition, a new Vice-Chairman was appointed, Capt Graham Westgarth, of Teekay Shipping. This vacancy had arisen since Vice-Chairman Patrick Decavèle of Brostrom Tankers has stood down from the Executive Committee after five years of valuable service.


Three new Executive Committee members were elected from the five candidates nominated by the Council:


          Bob Bishop, CEO of V. Ships Ship Management


          Nikolas Tsakos, President and CEO of Tsakos Energy Navigation (TEN) Limited


          Tsuneo Watanabe, Managing Executive Officer, Mitsui OSK Lines Ltd


With these appointments, the Executive Committee reaches its full compliment of 15.


Dr Peter Swift gave a brief overview of the financial statements. In addition, he gave a report on the on-going INTERTANKO work on the challenges presented by piracy both in the Gulf of Aden and elsewhere.


Former INTERTANKO Chairman Stephen Van Dyck was confirmed by the meeting as an Honorary Member of INTERTANKO.


Contact: Michele White