Not Logged In, Login,

Thursday, November 15, 2018

First Poseidon Challenge Award presented to IACS

This week has seen the first Poseidon Challenge Award presented to the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS) by Willem De Ruiter, Executive Director of the European Maritime Safety Agency, for its work on the successful introduction of the new IACS Common Structural Rules for Tankers (CSR), including the accelerated introduction of the new IMO Standards for Protective Coatings (PSPC) more than 18 months in advance of their mandated IMO implementation date.

The decision by INTERTANKO’s Council in 2005 to lead the continuous improvement of the tanker industry's performance in striving to achieve the goals of zero fatalities, zero pollution and zero detentions went hand in hand with the launch of the Poseidon Challenge as a vehicle to inspire and encourage individuals, companies and sectors to instil continuous improvement into their work and to engage in cooperation between links in the chain of responsibility.

The general realisation that these zero goals are only achievable through continuous improvement at all levels has encouraged many industry players to make commitments to the principles of the Poseidon Challenge and to share their progress in achieving those commitments. The subsequent broadening of the Poseidon Challenge out into the whole shipping industry resulted in many asking for an Award to be set up.

The Poseidon Challenge Award has been created to recognise outstanding accomplishments in continuous improvement in the maritime industry. The judging panel consisted of five members: Nicholas Fistes, Chairman of INTERTANKO; Chris Horrocks, former Secretary General of the International Chamber of Shipping; Thimio Mitropoulos, IMO Secretary General; Thomas Tay, General Secretary for the Singapore Maritime Officers' Union; Stephen Van Dyck, Chairman of the Poseidon Challenge. Fifteen entries were received, nominating individuals, companies, associations, equipment, publications to receive the Award.

 Nominations were required to be based upon one or more of the following:
1. Sustained commitment to continuous improvement.
2. Voluntary efforts to raise or set higher standards for performance.
3. Significant outreach toward working together with other sectors in the
maritime industry.
4. Setting goals of excellence and taking tangible steps toward achieving the
5. Leadership in moving the maritime industry towards continuous improvement.

Contact: Bill Box, INTERTANKO Communications and Public Relations Manager,
Phone: +44 20 7977 7023    Mobile: +44 774 380 1487
E-mail :