Not Logged In, Login,

Monday, November 19, 2018

Seafarers to nominate for first International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards

The International Committee on Seafarers' Welfare (ICSW) is to stage the first International Seafarers' Welfare Awards. These awards will recognise shipping companies, ports, welfare organisations and individuals who provide exceptional welfare facilities and services to seafarers on land or at sea. They will be presented by Thimio Mitropoulos, IMO Secretary General, on 1 December 2010 in London

Seafarers can nominate any of three out of four categories - Seafarer Centre of the Year, Shipping Company of the Year, Port of the Year. Any organisation, company or individual involved in seafarers' welfare can nominate the fourth category - Welfare Personality of the Year.

Seafarers can nominate via the awards website or by email. All organisations or companies nominated by seafarers will be invited to submit an application for an award through the awards website or via email.

So far, more than 450 seafarers have made nominations - but more are needed!

The awards are being supported by the IMO, INTERTANKO, the International Labour Organisation (ILO), the International Shipping Federation (ISF), the International Transport Workers Federation (ITF), and the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA).

Do please encourage your seafarers to make a nomination. Note that this includes the option of nominating the Shipping Company of the Year.

The site is now open for nominations and submissions here 

Download a pdf of the poster advertising the awards here  Download a pdf of the leaflet advertising the awards here 


Contact: Peter Swift  or  Bill Box