Not Logged In, Login,

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Shipping honours

Ms Angeliki Frangou, Chairman & CEO of the Navios group of companies, has been named as the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore for the year 2011.


The Award is presented each year to someone operating in the international maritime business who has made a significant contribution to the growth and development of the shipping industry.


The Award will be formally presented to Ms Frangou on 23 March 2011 at the dinner at the end of the annual Connecticut Maritime Association conference and exhibition.


At a ceremony at the IMO's headquarters in London, the International Committee on Seafarers' Welfare (ICSW) hosted its International Seafarers' Welfare Awards, which recognise excellence in seafarer welfare facilities and service.


The winners of the awards are:

  • Port of the Year - Joint winners: Port of Singapore and Port of Barcelona. Singapore's Maritime and Port Authority is an Associate Member of INTERTANKO.
  • Seafarer Centre of the Year - Rosenhill Seamen's Centre in Gothenburg (Sweden).
  • Welfare Personality of the Year – Ann Brogan of the Sailors Society
  • Shipping Company of the Year – Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement. BSM is a Member of INTERTANKO. The award was presented by the Secretary General of the IMO, Efthimios Mitropoulos, to Andreas Droussiotis, CEO of BSM.  

Our warmest congratulations go to all three member companies Navios, Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement, and the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore for their role in keeping standards at the highest level.


To see the official Awards Website click here


Contact: Bill Box